Alia Bhatt, Hrithik Roshan Invited To Join Oscars Academy List Of 819 New Members!

Bollywood stars Alia Bhatt and Hrithik Roshan have been invited to join the new list of members at the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. When they accept the invitation, they will have the right to vote for the 93rd Academy Awards, scheduled for April 25 next year. The list was announced after considering diversity factors and a wider representation following a backlash during the 2016 Academy Awards when a distinct number of white nominees was noted and called out.

Besides Alia and Hrithik, among a total of 819 new film personalities from around the globe, the 2020 invitees from India include documentary filmmakers Nishtha Jain (Gulabi Gang, Lakshmi and Me) and Amit Madheshiya  (The Cinema Travellers, Searching for Saraswati), designer Neeta Lulla (Jodhaa Akbar, Devdas), writer Sabrina Dhawan (Kaminey, Monsoon Wedding), casting director Nandini Shrikent (Gully Boy, Life of Pi), visual effects supervisors Vishal Anand (War, Bharat) and Sandeep Kamal (Panipat, Jal). These artists will be able to vote across categories at the Academy Awards.

Furthermore, the Academy will stream films released through the year for its members. With voting members being able to watch more films, the competition is expected to be more fair.

The official Twitter handle of the Academy shared the news with the caption: “Say hello to our brand new class of Academy members.”

More Stories
Day 4 of the 66 Cannes film festival