Aamir, SRK’s films in worst movie category at Golden Kela

Last updated:

Shah rukh khan

New Delhi: Superstars Aamir and Shah Rukh Khan‘s much-hyped films ‘Dhoom 3’ and ‘Chennai Express‘ will be competing for the worst film trophy at the sixth annual Golden Kela awards, a spin off on Hollywood’s Razzies.

The awards, to be given on March 29, recognize and honour the best of the worst in Hindi cinema every year by audience poll.

Other films that have made it to the worst movie category are Ranbir Kapoor’s ‘Besharam’, Hrithik Roshan’s ‘Krrish 3’ and ‘Himmatwala’, which is also nominated in the worst actor (Ajay Devgn), worst director (Sajid Khan) and RGV Ki Aag award for the most pointless remake or sequel.

Ranveer Singh’s turn as Ram in ‘Goliyon Ki Raasleela… Ram Leela’ while his co-star Deepika Padukone, who had four hits last year, has been named in the worst actress category for her outing with Shah Rukh Khan in ‘Chennai Express’.

Other than Ranveer, the worst actor category has Imran Khan for ‘Gori Tere Pyaar Mein’ and newcomers like Aditya Roy Kapoor for ‘Aashiqui 2’ and Arjun Kapoor for ‘Aurangzeb’.

In the female actors’ category, Sonam Kapoor (Raanjhanaa) and her contemporary Deepika have made it to the list a third time. Shraddha Kapoor is giving company to her co-star Aditya for her role in ‘Aashiqui 2’. The other two additions Pallavi Sharda for her debut in ‘Besharam’ and Sonakshi Sinha for ‘R… Rajkumar’.

Aditya and Imran have garnered their second nominations in the worst best supporting actor category for ‘Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani’ and ‘Matru Ki Bijlee Ka Mandola’. Actor Sanjay Dutt has been named for his role of Sher Khan in ‘Zanjeer’ remake with the entire star cast of ‘ABCD’.

The worst director list includes Sanjay Leela Bhansali for ‘Goliyon Ki Raasleela… Ram Leela’, Rohit Shetty ‘Chennai Express’, Prabhu Dheva ‘R… Rajkumar’ and Rakesh Roshan for Hrithik Roshan starrer ‘Krrish 3’.

Among other categories, the award also has a hilarious section titled Baawra Ho Gaya Hai Ke Award (Have you gone mad?) and the nominees in the list include Aamir Khan for starring in mindless caper ‘Dhoom 3’, Vishal Bhardwaj for making flop satire ‘Matru Ki Bijli Ka Mandola’, Abhinav Kashyap and Ranbir Kapoor for making ‘Besharam’, Tigmanshu Dhulia for his commercial attempt ‘Bullett Raja’ and Sudhir Mishra for ‘Inkaar’.

“The movies that released this year gave us ample choice for the nominations. It might be tough for the voters to decide which one was the absolute worst! This time the nominations were especially difficult, because Bollywood spewed out an incredible amount of crappy films and the Indian audience spent a large amount of money on them,” Jatin Varma, Founder, Golden Kela Awards, said in a statement.

The other category includes Aakhir Kyun Award, Dara Singh Award for Worst Accent, Bas Kijiye Bahut Ho Gaya (That’s enough), Aap Yahaan Aaye Kisliye Award (Why have you come here?) and Ra.One Award for Worst Premise.